Friends,

I am finishing off my new novel, “Bjorn Again”, at present. This is the third in the Bjorn Trilogy and I am getting more excited about it as I reach the final chapters. In the book there is a wedding ceremony and the Theologian, Rabbi Burns has written a poem for the event. I would like to share this with you now. It is in Scots English but I am sure you will understand it all. Enjoy.

 

Rabbi Burns’, “The Wedding Speech

________

I welcome thee – intae this hame,

No’ fir gold, – success ‘r fame,

But tae rejoice – in twinship and hope,

Tho her faither’s just glad – they didnae elope.

In maist hearts, – there lieth a midden,

Secrets past – are aftimes hidden.

But here afore us – there standith two,

With souls kept open – and haerts so true.

 …

So look upon – these twa in love,

Say Cupid, Swan – and turtle dove,

And see in them – fit thee – may be,

Love here abounding – fir a’ tae see.

 …

So I ask thee now – tae be upstanding,

And mak’ thy pledge – to keep a haund in,

And help these twa – in front o’ me,

In times o’ need – be on land or sea.

If you like my work, feel free to check out some of my other blog entries or, if you would like something more substantial, you can find my books on Amazon and Barnes & Noble as well as many other online bookstores.

You can also Follow me on Twitter @AuthorMcGowan

One thought on “Rabbi Burns’ “The Wedding Speech”

Leave a Reply

